© Copyright 2018   The Upper Murray Business Directory  All rights reserved.

The Snowy

Mountains Hydro

Electric Scheme




The construction of the Snowy

Mountains Hydro Electric Scheme

was the result of visionaries who

were able to take a dream and turn it

into reality.

The thought of being able to manage large

volumes of water from the Snowy

Mountains to create a renewable, clean

hydro electric energy and to provide

irrigation water to the drought

susceptible plains west of the Great

Dividing Range could not have been made a

reality without clever and innovative

thinkers and a solid workforce, all striving

for a common goal.

The construction phase of the Snowy

Mountains Scheme took twenty five

years (1949-1974). Over 100,000

people, from over 30 countries of the

world, worked on the project during

this time.

As a result of this effort, an impressive list

of infrastructure was created including 7

major power stations (including 2

underground), 16 dams, 80 kilometres

of aqueducts, 145 kilometres of

tunnels and a large pumping station.

Greater public access to the Snowy

Mountains is the direct result of road

development undertaken during the

Scheme's construction phase.

Most of the work on the Upper Murray side of the Snowy Mountains occurred in the 1960s. The town of Khancoban was created to provide accommodation for the workers that built the two power stations, Murray 1 and Murray 2 and several reservoirs. A temporary township at Geehi, including an airstrip, was also created. A lot of heavy equipment and materials used in the construction of this infrastructure were brought to the construction sites by train to Cudgewa and then transported by trucks into the mountains. Some of this infrastructure included the Geehi Dam was created to manage water flow into the Murray 1 power station while the Murray 2 pondage was created to manage water flow into the Murray 2 power station. The Khancoban Pondage was created to control water released from the two power stations into the Swampy Plains River and the Murray River. The Tooma and Tumut Reservoirs or Pondages were built to control water destined for the northern power stations along the Tumut River and eventually out into the Murrumbidgee basin.

To learn more be sure to visit the

Snowy Hydro Visitor Centre beside

the Murray 1 power station, 10 km from

Khancoban along the Alpine Way. This

power station is the second largest in

the Scheme and it has ten turbines, each

capable of producing enough electricity to

supply 95,000 homes.

The Visitor Centre is open seven days a

week except Christmas Day, ANZAC Day

and winter weekends. Coach and school

groups are welcome. Picnic & toilet

facilities available. Fishing with a

NSW inland fishing license in Murray 2 is


“The Man From Snowy River’ Country of North-Eastern Victoria & Southern NSW